about the artist

Faile

The artist collective FAILE is one of the commercially successful representatives of street art/urban art. In their works they often allude to the Challenger crash in 1986.

Biography

FAILE is the name of an artist collaboration that was founded in Brooklyn in 1998/99 and remains active in the field of street art, urban art and public art to this day. The founding members are Aiko Nakagawa, who left FAILE in 2006 and remains active as Lady Aiko, and Patrick Miller and Patrick McNeal, who have been the brains of and behind FAILE since 2006. Their studio is located in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

The name FAILE is an anagram of A-life, their first project together in 1998 on the streets of New York City. Due to the similarity in name to a NYC-based shoe company, they renamed the project FAILE in 1999 and eventually named themselves that.

FAILE is one of the commercially successful representatives of street art/urban art. Through the distribution of their prints, stickers, canvases, stencils, woodwork, etc. on their own website and regular exhibitions starting in 2002 in Europe, North America and Asia, their profile grew; however, they continued to be active on the streets. Their final breakthrough, by their own account, came in 2006 with Spank the Monkey, among others. They were also represented on the facade of the Tate Modern in 2008, alongside Blu, JR and others, as well as at Portugal Arte 10, installed the Wolf Within Sculpture in Ulaanbaatar in 2012, and designed the posters for the New York City Ballet in 2013.

Within their works, FAILE play with ambivalences such as life-death. Recurring motifs within their œuvre include the space shuttle Challenger, the FAILE Dog, the Wolfman, female figures, and various vintage cars. Most of their works are signed FAILE and/or 1986, an allusion to the Challenger crash in 1986.

FAILE describe themselves as Urban Decorators.

Über die Künstler

Faile

Das Künstlerkollektiv FAILE gehört zu den kommerziell erfolgreichen Vertretern der Street Art/Urban Art. Oftmals spielen sie in ihren Werken auf 

den Challenger-Absturz 1986 an.

Biografie

FAILE ist der Name einer Künstler-Kollaboration, die 1998/99 in Brooklyn gegründet wurde und im Bereich der Street Art, der Urban Art und der Public Art bis heute aktiv ist. Die Gründungsmitglieder sind Aiko Nakagawa, die 2006 FAILE verließ und weiterhin als Lady Aiko aktiv ist, sowie Patrick Miller und Patrick McNeal, die seit 2006 die Köpfe von und hinter FAILE sind. Ihr Studio befindet sich in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Der Name FAILE ist ein Anagramm von A-life, ihrem ersten gemeinsamen Projekt 1998 in den Straßen von New York City. Aufgrund der Namensgleichheit zu einer in NYC ansässigen Schuhfirma benannten sie das Projekt 1999 in FAILE um und nannten sich schließlich selbst so.

FAILE gehört zu den kommerziell erfolgreichen Vertretern der Street Art/Urban Art. Durch den Vertrieb ihrer Drucke, Sticker, Leinwände, Stencils, Holzarbeiten etc. auf ihrer eigenen Website und den regelmäßigen Ausstellungen ab 2002 in Europa, Nord-Amerika und Asien wuchs ihr Bekanntheitsgrad; sie waren jedoch weiterhin auch auf der Straße aktiv. Ihren endgültigen Durchbruch erlangten sie, nach eigenen Angaben, 2006 u. a. mit Spank the Monkey. Zudem waren sie 2008, neben Blu, JR und anderen, an der Fassade der Tate Modern vertreten, sowie bei der Portugal Arte 10, stellten 2012 die Wolf Within Sculpture in Ulaanbaatar auf und entwarfen 2013 die Plakate für das New York City Ballet.

Innerhalb ihrer Werke spielen FAILE mit Ambivalenzen wie z. B. Leben-Tod. Wiederkehrende Motive innerhalb ihres Œuvre sind u. a. die Raumfähre Challenger, der FAILE Dog, der Wolfman, Frauenfiguren oder auch verschiedene Oldtimer. Die meisten ihrer Werke sind mit FAILE und/oder 1986, eine Anspielung auf den Challenger-Absturz 1986, signiert.

FAILE bezeichnen sich selbst als Urban Decorators.