Patrizia Casagranda

Krefeld, Germany

Biographpy

The Krefeld-based artist Patrizia Casagranda creates expressive symbioses with elements of collage, painting, stencil technique, street art and typography. Her motifs are mostly arranged as thematically homogeneous series of images in which the artist follows a particular subject or aspect of materiality.

In a time of increasing digitalization, which does not stop at art, Casagranda consciously focuses on a tangibly tangible materiality in her works. On sheets of plywood, recycled army tents, or truck tarps, she creates relief-like, jagged surfaces of waves, furrows, mortar, and burls.

Casagranda works with the collage principle as well as with its opposite, the exfoliation of decollage: she flames off the top layer of corrugated cardboard to expose the wave profile. She covers fabric over paper, applies writing in graffiti style. An important role is played by the dotted grid applied from a mortar-plaster mixture and later covered with paint.

These dots are reminiscent of works by Roy Lichtenstein and Sigmar Polke. However, they stand out three-dimensionally in Casagranda's work. Her compositions carry up to 15 layers and possess a fascinating sense of depth. Up close, the work appears as little more than an abstract relief.

But if you take just a few steps back, the individual fragments suddenly come together and an expressive portrait of a woman manifests itself out of the sea of dots. On the one hand, Casagranda likes to work with familiar faces of our media world - models, activists, or actresses, as in the painting "White Belief II," which shows the U.S. actress Jennifer Lawrence, an emancipated strong woman with a role model function.

But unknown persons from Casagranda's immediate personal environment also appear as motifs, as do young, for us nameless, Indian women of the Kalbelia caste, who live in the slums of New Delhi by picking up garbage.

The artist had befriended these girls during one of her annual visits to India and was deeply impressed by their unbroken optimism and zest for life, which gave her the inspiration for the "Belief" series. Whether a public face or an unknown private person, it is the warmth of their universal feminine radiance that Casagranda uses to emphasize the unifying and shared values of love and peace in the world religions of Buddhism, Shinto, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism and - in the case of "White Belief II" - Christianity.

Thus, all the paintings in the series deliberately bear the word "Belief" in the title, with only their coloration and texture changing in detail. Transferred to the question of faith, each picture carries the humanistic message that personal faith can take on many faces, expressions and shades, the language of charity and peace always remains the same. The German-Italian artist Patrizia Casagranda (*1979, Krefeld, Germany) first graduated in 2002 with honors in design at the FH Niederrhein and attended the painting academies in Nice, Ravensburg and Trier.

After changing jobs as a graphic designer (for Günther Uecker and Markus Lüpertz, among others), she has been working freelance since 2015, in phases in Germany, the Netherlands and India. Thanks to her distinctive style, she has already experienced considerable success on the part of the international art scene after a short time.


Nominations/Awards

  • Kunstpreis Deutschland 2021
  • West Germany Prestige Award 2020/2021
  • ADCfineart Art comes alive Cincinatti 2020
  • Musaartspace (Selected by the unesco) 2020
  • Art Foundation Berlin 2020
  • Artprize Rome 2020
  • Kunstpreis Barcelona (Artboxgallery) 2020
  • Südwestdeutscher Kunstpreis 2020
  • Kunstpreis Zürich (Artboxgallery) 2019
  • Kunstpreis Wörth 2018
  • Kunstpreis Worms 2018


Exhibitions

2019

  • Neue Kunst Gallery, Karlsruhe, Solo exhibition, 18.1.-23.3.2019
  • Part2Gallery, Düsseldorf, Solo exhibition, 1.2.-1.3.2019
  • Artgallery Wiesbaden, Exhibition 22.3.-23.4.2019
  • Art Center Berlin, Exhibition, 18.9.-28.9.2019

2018

  • Galerie Art15, Bremen, Germany
  • Galerie K, Luxembourg
  • Artgallery Wiesbaden, Germany
  • Art Life Gallery, Saint-Raphaël, Côte d’Azur, France
  • Galleri Nordenvind, Denmark
  • Roccartgallery, Florence, Italy
  • Galerie Lauth, Ludwigshafen
  • Neue Kunst Gallery, Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Museo di Gonzaga, Mantova, Italy
  • Architekturbiennale, Venedig, Italy
  • Steinberger Galerien, Langenargen, Germany
  • Galerie Mönch, Bremen, Solo exhibition
  • Galerie an der Zitadelle, Jülich, Solo exhibition
  • Galerie Palz, Saarlouis, Solo exhibition

2017

  • Galerie Bruno Massa, Paris, New York
  • Museum of Contemporary Art, Beijing, China
  • Bilder Bethge, Erfurt, Germany
  • Voigt Gallery, Nuremberg, Germany
  • Pashmin Art Gallery, Hamburg, Germany
  • Galerie an der Zitadelle, Jülich, Germany
  • Galerie Luzia Sassen, Cologne, Germany
  • Woodbinecontemporaryarts, Uppingham, UK
  • Galerie Art15, Bremen, Germany
  • Galerie Palz, Saarlouis, Germany

2016

  • Galerie Kaschenbach, Trier, Germany
  • Galerie K, Mallorca, Spain
  • Galerie Hunold, Greven, Germany
  • Art Center Berlin, Germany
  • Addart, Arnhem, Netherlands, Germany
  • Kunsthaus de Bernardi, Aachen, Germany
  • Th. Hülsmeier Kunsthandlung, Osnabrück, Germany

Patrizia Casagranda

Krefeld, Deutschland

Biografie

Die Krefelder Künstlerin Patrizia Casagranda schafft ausdrucksstarke Symbiosen mit Elementen aus Collage, Malerei, Schablonentechnik, Street-Art und Typografie. Ihre Motive sind zumeist als thematisch homogenen Bildserien angelegt, in denen die Künstlerin einem bestimmten Sujet oder einem besonderen Materialitätsaspekt folgt.

In einer Zeit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung, die auch vor der Kunst nicht Halt macht, setzt Casagranda in ihren Werken bewusst auf eine spürbar greifbare Materialität. Auf Sperrholzplatten, recycelten Armee-Zelten oder LKW-Planen lässt sie reliefartige, zerklüftete Oberflächen aus Wellen, Furchen, Mörtel und Noppen entstehen.

Casagranda arbeitet mit dem Collage-Prinzip ebenso wie mit seinem Gegenteil, der Abschilferung der Decollage: Von der Wellpappe flämmt sie die obere Schicht ab, um das Wellenprofil freizulegen. Sie deckt Stoff über Papier, bringt Schrift in Graffiti-Manier auf. Eine wichtige Rolle nimmt das aus einer Mörtel-Gips-Mischung aufgetragene und später mit Farbe überzogene Punkteraster ein.

Diese Noppen erinnern an Werke von Roy Lichtenstein und Sigmar Polke. Jedoch ragen sie in Casagrandas Werk dreidimensional heraus. Ihre Kompositionen tragen bis zu 15 Schichten und besitzen eine faszinierende Tiefenwirkung. Aus der Nähe erscheint das Werk als kaum mehr als ein abstraktes Relief.

Doch tritt man nur ein paar Schritte zurück, setzen sich die einzelnen Fragmente plötzlich zusammen und aus dem Punktemeer manifestiert sich ein expressives Frauenportrait. Casagranda arbeitet zum einen gerne mit bekannten Gesichtern unserer Medienwelt – Models, Aktivistinnen oder Schauspielerinnen, wie im Gemälde „White Belief II“, das die US-amerikanische Schauspielerin Jennifer Lawrence zeigt, eine emanzipierte starke Frau mit Vorbildfunktion.

Aber auch unbekannte Personen aus Casagrandas unmittelbaren persönlichen Umfeld kommen als Motive vor genauso wie junge, für uns namenlose, Inderinnen der Kalbelia-Kaste, die in den Slums von Neu-Delhi vom Müllauflesen leben.

Die Künstlerin hatte diese Mädchen bei einem ihrer jährlichen Indien-Aufenthalte befreundet und war tief beeindruckt von deren ungebrochener Optimismus und Lebensfreude, was ihr die Inspiration für die „Belief“-Serie gab. Ob öffentliches Gesicht oder unbekannte Privatperson – es ist die Wärme ihrer universellen weiblichen Ausstrahlung, die Casagranda nutzt, um das Verbindende und die gemeinsamen Wertevorstellungen von Liebe und Frieden in den Weltreligionen Buddhismus, Shinto, Islam, Judentum, Hinduismus und - im Fall von „White Belief II“ - Christentum zu betonen.

So tragen alle Bilder der Reihe bewusst das Wort „Belief“ im Titel, nur ihre Farbigkeit und die Beschaffenheit im Detail verändert sich. Übertragen auf die Glaubensfrage trägt jedes Bild die humanistische Botschaft, dass der persönliche Glauben viele Gesichter, Ausprägungen und Schattierungen annehmen kann, die Sprache der Nächstenliebe und des Friedens bleibt dabei stehts die Gleiche. Die deutsch-italienische Künstlerin Patrizia Casagranda (*1979, Krefeld, Dtl.) schloss 2002 zunächst ein Design-Studium an der FH Niederrhein mit Auszeichnung ab und besuchte die Malakademien in Nizza, Ravensburg und Trier.

Nach wechselnden Tätigkeiten als Grafikerin (u. a. für Günther Uecker und Markus Lüpertz) arbeitet sie seit 2015 freischaffend, phasenweise in Deutschland, den Niederlanden und in Indien. Dank ihres unverwechselbaren Stils konnte sie bereits nach kurzer Zeit einen beachtlichen Erfolg seitens der internationalen Kunstszene erfahren.


Nominierungen/Preise

  • Kunstpreis Deutschland 2021
  • West Germany Prestige Award 2020/2021
  • ADCfineart Art comes alive Cincinatti 2020
  • Musaartspace (Selected by the unesco) 2020
  • Art Foundation Berlin 2020
  • Artprize Rome 2020
  • Kunstpreis Barcelona (Artboxgallery) 2020
  • Südwestdeutscher Kunstpreis 2020
  • Kunstpreis Zürich (Artboxgallery) 2019
  • Kunstpreis Wörth 2018
  • Kunstpreis Worms 2018


Ausstellungen

2019

  • Neue Kunst Gallery, Karlsruhe, Solo exhibition, 18.1.-23.3.2019
  • Part2Gallery, Düsseldorf, Solo exhibition, 1.2.-1.3.2019
  • Artgallery Wiesbaden, Exhibition 22.3.-23.4.2019
  • Art Center Berlin, Exhibition, 18.9.-28.9.2019

2018

  • Galerie Art15, Bremen, Germany
  • Galerie K, Luxembourg
  • Artgallery Wiesbaden, Germany
  • Art Life Gallery, Saint-Raphaël, Côte d’Azur, France
  • Galleri Nordenvind, Denmark
  • Roccartgallery, Florence, Italy
  • Galerie Lauth, Ludwigshafen
  • Neue Kunst Gallery, Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Museo di Gonzaga, Mantova, Italy
  • Architekturbiennale, Venedig, Italy
  • Steinberger Galerien, Langenargen, Germany
  • Galerie Mönch, Bremen, Solo exhibition
  • Galerie an der Zitadelle, Jülich, Solo exhibition
  • Galerie Palz, Saarlouis, Solo exhibition

2017

  • Galerie Bruno Massa, Paris, New York
  • Museum of Contemporary Art, Beijing, China
  • Bilder Bethge, Erfurt, Germany
  • Voigt Gallery, Nuremberg, Germany
  • Pashmin Art Gallery, Hamburg, Germany
  • Galerie an der Zitadelle, Jülich, Germany
  • Galerie Luzia Sassen, Cologne, Germany
  • Woodbinecontemporaryarts, Uppingham, UK
  • Galerie Art15, Bremen, Germany
  • Galerie Palz, Saarlouis, Germany

2016

  • Galerie Kaschenbach, Trier, Germany
  • Galerie K, Mallorca, Spain
  • Galerie Hunold, Greven, Germany
  • Art Center Berlin, Germany
  • Addart, Arnhem, Netherlands, Germany
  • Kunsthaus de Bernardi, Aachen, Germany
  • Th. Hülsmeier Kunsthandlung, Osnabrück, Germany