About the artist

Peter Kalkhof

London, UK

Biography

Peter Kalkhof (* 20. Dezember 1933 in Staßfurt / D; † 24. Februar 2014 in London / GB)
'Close your physical eye in order to see your own picture with your spiritual eye first. After that you reveal what you have seen in the dark, so that it may reappear for others, from the outside to the inside.'
(Caspar David Friedrich 1774* - 1840†)

Peter Kalkhof was an important pioneer and co-initiator, as well as a proponent, of the dominant art movements in the 1970s which are variously known as Concrete Art, OP Art, New Geometry, Hard Edge or Post-Painterly Abstraction. His legacy invites us to participate in these fascinating developments and appreciate the singularity of his contribution as an artist.

Peter Kalkhof was born in Stassfurt-Leopoldshall, Germany on 20 December 1933. He began work as an apprenticeship carpenter in Seesen-Herrhausen / Harzgebirge during the post-war era in 1949. Between 1952-1956 he trained and worked as a relief printer but also began the study of fine art painting at the Arts and Craft Academy of Brunswick. In 1956 he continued his education in fine art at the Academy of Fine Art in Stuttgart where he obtained the first prize for portrait painting in 1959.

These early years of sound training and craftsmanship lay the foundations for Peter Kalkhof’s extensive output as an artist and are fundamental to an understanding of his character and artistic temperament. The completed quality of his finished art is deeply impressive. The mostly self-determined construct for Peter’s paintings, his choice of materials as well as the wide range of diverse and highly professional techniques, are just some of the very special and unique features that characterise his immense oeuvre.

Due to the consistent high quality of the artwork it is sometimes difficult to identify with accuracy when exactly an individual work was painted, even decades later.

In 1960-1961 Peter obtained a scholarship at the prestigious Slade School of Fine Art in London and then finished his art studies at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris. During this period, he increasingly immerses himself in the avant-garde art movements of the time which not only causes him to question his neo-classical and modernist training but also has a deep and lasting effect on his later work.

After moving to London, England in 1963 he lived and worked there as an artist until his death in 2014. In London he married the renowned jewellery designer Jeanne Thé. Together they had a son also called Peter (Kuti).

During the years 1964-1988 Peter held the position of senior lecturer in fine art at the Department of Art at the University of Reading, just outside London.

In the middle of the 1960s Peter Kalkhof developed the principle of Colour & Space, the basis of his artistic life’s work. His work was rooted in the Northern Romantic tradition. One of his favourite paintings was Monk by the Sea (1810) by Caspar David Friedrich. He was also deeply influenced by the transcendental abstractions of artists like Malevich, Kandinsky and Rothko. Peter Kalkhof's artworks are described by his friend and colleague, art historian Roger Cook, as: ‘Numinous evocations of light and colour addressed to a world after the death of God in which profane space recovers its sacred origin; images which renew man's ancient experience of ‘sacred space’.’(1977)

The ‘vertical line of being’ and the ‘horizontal line of the world’ are referenced in diverse and numerous colour compositions. The micro and macro space finds expression in a partly very concise and sometimes very free geometric formal language. His works seem timeless because the dominant topics are the universal aspects of human existence in relation to the world and cosmos.

Peter was a consummate traveller and lover of travel during the whole of his life. These travels appear to have been not only physical but also spiritual. They seem to indicate a search for something that cannot be found outside of the individual self.

Numerous excursions to ancient cultural sites across the whole globe reappear in his art in various guises. His triangles and squares are examples that can be found in the pyramids of the Mayans, Aztecs and ancient Egyptians, the meditative circles in far-east mandalas, the horizontal line as boundary between the sky and vast landscapes, the scatter of geometric elements in the apparently random distribution of stars and galaxies within the firmament. An evidently unstable and chaotic world is contrasted with universal principles of consistency and order. These areas of conflict are forcefully communicated through Peter Kalkhof's art.

Over the decades Peter’s art has been shown in various international solo and group exhibitions and can be found in many public and private collections.

Throughout the 1960s a very personal and unique friendship developed with the gallery owner Annely Juda in London. This internationally renowned gallery Annely Juda Fine Art London continues to represent Peter’s work as an artist through Annely’ s son, David Juda. This unique co-operation has led to many exhibitions not only within the London gallery itself but also to international art exhibitions such as Art Basel.

Sadly, Peter passed away in London on 24 February 2014.

Currently his artistic legacy is being managed by the Peter Kalkhof Foundation.

-Jens Kalkhof, 2021


Ausstellungen und Messen

1979

  • Kunstverein, Marburg; Annely Juda Fine Art, London

1981

  • Goethe-Institut, London

1983

  • Juda Rowan Gallery, London

1987

  • Galerie Altes Rathaus, Wörth am Rhein

1988

  • Landesmuseum Oldenburg

1989

  • Camden Arts Centre, London
  • Ostpreußisches Landesmuseum, Lüneburg

1990

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London

1993

  • Galerie Rösch, Neubrunn/Würzburg
  • Galerie Schröder und Dörr, Bergisch Gladbach

1994

  • Galerie Rösch, Karlsruhe

1995

  • Rathaus Galerie Balingen

1996

  • Prignitz-Museum, Havelberg
  • Stadt-Museum Galerie, Schieder-Schwalenberg

1997

  • Annley Juda Fine Art, London

1998

  • Galerie Planie 22, Reutlingen
  • St. Hugh's College, Oxford

2000

  • Galerie Rösch, Houston

2002

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London

2004

  • T1+2 artspace, London

2007

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London

2011

  • Merston Gallery, Chichester

2012

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London
  • Expo Chicago (mit Roger Ackling bei Annely Juda Fine Art, London)

2014

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London (Gedächtnisausstellung)

2018

  • 50 Jahre, 50 KünstlerAnnely Juda Fine Art, London
  • Time, Space and Texture mit Christopher Wool und Tom Lohner
    Bakerhouse Gallery, Graz
  • Art Basel, Basel, mit Christo und David Hockney
    bei Annely Juda Fine Art, London

2019

  • Arte Wiesbaden, bei Bakerhouse Gallery, Graz

Über den Künstler

Peter Kalkhof

London, Großbritannien

Biografie

Peter Kalkhof (* 20. Dezember 1933 in Staßfurt / D; † 24. Februar 2014 in London / GB)
Schließe Dein leibliches Auge damit Du mit dem geistigen Auge zuerst sehest Dein Bild. Dann fördere zu Tage, was Du im Dunkeln gesehen, dass es zurückwirke auf andere, von außen nach innen."
(Caspar David Friedrich 1774* - 1840†)

Peter Kalkhof ist ein wichtiger Pionier, Mitinitiator und repräsentativer Vertreter einer dominanten Kunstrichtung der 1970er Jahre, die auch unter den Bezeichnungen "Konkrete Kunst", "Op Art", " Neue Geometrie", "Hard Edge" oder "Nachmalerische Abstraktion" bekannt ist. Sein immenses Werk lädt uns ein, an diesen spannenden Entwicklungen Teil zu haben und die Einzigartigkeit seiner Person und Kunst kennen und schätzen zu lernen.

1933 in Staßfurt-Leopoldshall geboren, beginnt er in der Nachkriegszeit 1949 eine Tischlerlehre in Seesen-Herrhausen am Harzgebirge. 1952-1956 absolviert er nicht nur eine weitere Lehre und arbeitet als Klischeesätzer und Chemograf in Braunschweig sondern beginnt dort auch ein Studium der Malerei an der "Werkkunstschule". 1956 führt er sein Kunststudium an der "staatlichen Akademie der bildenden Künste" in Stuttgart fort und erhält 1959 den 1. Preis für Porträtmalerei.

Diese frühen Jahre solider handwerklicher und künstlerischer Ausbildung charakterisieren Peter Kalkhof und sein umfangreiches Schaffen. Die ausgeführte Qualität seiner Arbeiten ist zutiefst beeindruckend; die fast ausschließlich selbst gefertigten Bilderrahmen, seine angemessene Wahl von Materialien als auch die vielfältigen und höchst professionellen Techniken seiner Malerei geben ihm ein besonderes Alleinstellungsmerkmal. Heutzutage sieht man vielen seiner Werke, auch Jahrzehnte nach ihrer Entstehung, ihr wahres Alter nicht an.

1960-1961 ist er Stipendiat an der "Slade School of Fine Art, University College" in London / England und beendet 1962 sein Kunststudium an der "École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts" in Paris / Frankreich. Hier kommt er verstärkt mit avantgardistischen Kunstrichtungen in Berührung, die seine klassisch-moderne Ausbildung nicht nur erweitern und in Frage stellen, sondern ihn und sein weiteres Werk auch nachhaltig prägen.

1963 zieht er nach London / England und lebt dort bis zu seinem Lebensende 2014 als freischaffender Künstler. Er heiratet die Schmuckdesignerin Jeanne Thé, zusammen haben sie einen Sohn Peter Kalkhof jnr. 1964 – 1998 arbeitet er außerdem als Kunstdozent für Malerei an der "School of Art, University of Reading / UK".

Mitte der 1960er entwickelt Peter Kalkhof die Basis seines künstlerischen Lebenswerkes "Farbe & Raum" ("Colour & Space"). Verwurzelt sowohl in der Nordischen Romantik - eines seiner Lieblingsbilder war "Mönch am Meer" (~1810) von Caspar David Friedrich - als auch in den transzendentalen Abstraktionen von Künstlern wie Malewitsch, Kandinsky und Rothko, werden die Werke von Peter Kalkhof von dem renommierten Londoner Kunstkritiker Roger Cook folgendermaßen beschrieben: "Zauberhafte Beschwörungen von Licht und Farbe sprechen eine Welt nach dem Tode Gottes an – eine Welt, in der der "mißbrauchte Raum" seine verlorene heilige Ursprünglichkeit wieder findet." (1977). Die "vertikale Linie des Seins" und die "horizontale Linie der Welt" werden in unterschiedlichsten Farbkompositionen referenziert. Der mikro- und makroskopische Raum findet Ausdruck in teilweise sehr strenger als auch in einer freien geometrischen Formensprache. Seine Werke sind zeitlos, da sie universelle Aspekte des menschlichen Seins in Bezug zu Welt und Kosmos thematisieren.

Peter Kalkhof ist zeitlebens ein Reisender. Diese Reisen sind sowohl physischer als auch psychischer Natur. Sie deuten auf eine Suche nach etwas, welches letztendlich nicht außerhalb des Individuums gefunden werden kann. Zahlreiche Studienexkursionen zu alten Kulturstätten auf der ganzen Welt fließen in seine Arbeiten ein. Seine Dreiecke und Quadrate sind beispielsweise auch in den Pyramiden der Mayas, Azteken und Ägyptern zu finden, die meditativen Kreise in den fernöstlichen Mandalas, die horizontale Linie als Grenzbereich zwischen Himmel und weiten Landschaften, die Streuung geometrischer Elemente in der zufällig anmutenden Verteilung von Sternen und Galaxien am Firmament. Einer augenscheinlich instabilen und chaotischen Welt werden universelle Prinzipien von Beständigkeit und Ordnung entgegen gesetzt. Diese Spannungsfelder werden in Peter Kalkhofs Kunst kraftvoll vermittelt.

Peter Kalkhofs Werke werden über die Jahrzehnte nicht nur in zahlreichen internationalen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt sondern sind auch Teil vieler öffentlicher und privater Sammlungen. In den 1960er Jahren entsteht ein persönlicher Kontakt und Freundschaft mit der Galeristin Annely Juda in London. Bis zum heutigen Tage wird Peter Kalkhof von der international tätigen "Gallery Annely Juda Fine Arts – London" als Künstler vertreten. Nicht nur in der Londoner Galerie selbst führte diese Kooperation zu diversen Ausstellungen, sondern seine Werke wurden auch auf diversen internationalen Kunstmessen, wie z.B. der "Art Basel", ausgestellt.

2014 verstirbt Peter Kalkhof nach einer schweren Krankheit in London. Momentan wird sein künstlerisches Vermächtnis von der "Peter Kalkhof Foundation" verwaltet.

-Jens Kalkhof, 2021


Ausstellungen und Messen

1979

  • Kunstverein, Marburg; Annely Juda Fine Art, London

1981

  • Goethe-Institut, London

1983

  • Juda Rowan Gallery, London

1987

  • Galerie Altes Rathaus, Wörth am Rhein

1988

  • Landesmuseum Oldenburg

1989

  • Camden Arts Centre, London
  • Ostpreußisches Landesmuseum, Lüneburg

1990

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London

1993

  • Galerie Rösch, Neubrunn/Würzburg
  • Galerie Schröder und Dörr, Bergisch Gladbach

1994

  • Galerie Rösch, Karlsruhe

1995

  • Rathaus Galerie Balingen

1996

  • Prignitz-Museum, Havelberg
  • Stadt-Museum Galerie, Schieder-Schwalenberg

1997

  • Annley Juda Fine Art, London

1998

  • Galerie Planie 22, Reutlingen
  • St. Hugh's College, Oxford

2000

  • Galerie Rösch, Houston

2002

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London

2004

  • T1+2 artspace, London

2007

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London

2011

  • Merston Gallery, Chichester

2012

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London
  • Expo Chicago (mit Roger Ackling bei Annely Juda Fine Art, London)

2014

  • Annely Juda Fine Art, London (Gedächtnisausstellung)

2018

  • 50 Jahre, 50 KünstlerAnnely Juda Fine Art, London
  • Time, Space and Texture mit Christopher Wool und Tom Lohner
    Bakerhouse Gallery, Graz
  • Art Basel, Basel, mit Christo und David Hockney
    bei Annely Juda Fine Art, London

2019

  • Arte Wiesbaden, bei Bakerhouse Gallery, Graz